Friday, May 29, 2015

West Geauga Schools
April 10, 2014 by Staff Report | No Comments

Senior Citizens RecognitionThe 24th annual West Geauga Senior Citizens Recognition Dinner will be held on May 7 at 4:30 p.m. in the West Geauga High…

Senior Citizens Recognition

The 24th annual West Geauga Senior Citizens Recognition Dinner will be held on May 7 at 4:30 p.m. in the West Geauga High School cafeteria, 13401 Chillicothe Road in Chester Township. Sponsored by West Geauga Local Schools and the Rotary Club of Chesterland, the evening promises to be enjoyable and entertaining.

Payment of $5 per person will be collected at the door. Valet parking will be available. For reservations, call the West Geauga Board of Education Office at 440-729-6812 by May 1. For more information, visit

Senior Talent Show

The community is invited to attend the annual Senior Talent Show April 11 at 7:30 p.m. in the West Geauga Middle School gymnasium. The graduating 2014 senior class will perform their many talents. See dancers, singers, musicians, original compositions and much more.

Tickets are $5 at the door the night of the show for anyone in kindergarten or older. Food and drink will be available for purchase.

The money raised from both ticket and concession sales will be allocated towards the 2014 AfterProm, which will be held on May 16.

KickStart to College

The West Geauga Educational Foundation in cooperation with the West Geauga High School Guidance Department is hosting a KickStart to College Informational Fair on May 28 at the West Geauga high school from 5-8 p.m. The event will feature several local college admissions officers, representatives from some out of town alumni offices, financial planners, ACT/SAT prep representatives and guest speakers on topics such as choosing a major and writing essays for the Common Application.

We are looking for individuals who are connected with their local college alumni group who would like to come and participate.

The event will include a reception in the annex where recent West Geauga High School graduates can talk about their college experiences with current high school students.

To participate, please contact Troy Kucera at 440-749-2714. Grab that college sweatshirt and represent your college.

WG’s Super Scientists

State Science Day will be held May 10 at The Ohio State University. More than 700 participants from across Ohio will present their research projects in the French Field House to a panel of volunteer judges.

Congratulations go to juniors Kirstin Boni, Patrick Drockton, Daniel Hartman, Lilly Makee and sophomore Opal Contizano who earned the privilege of competing in Columbus this year.

These super scientists became eligible for State Science Day by earning a superior rating at their district science day, which was held at the University of Akron on March 15.

This year, over $4 million in scholarships and awards will be given away to students in grades 5 through 12. Students may present projects in the following interest areas: behavioral and social science, environmental science, biochemistry, mathematics, botany, medicine, chemistry, microbiology, computers, physics, Earth and space science, zoology and engineering.

Lindsey ACE Awards

Congratulations go out to the ACE Award winners for the third quarter at Lindsey Elementary School. Students awarded by their teachers for demonstrating positive attitude, citizenship and effort in the classroom include:

Kindergartners: Adrian Ayres, Charlie Culek, Matthew Furst and David Kurtz;

First-graders: Sophia Bell, Matthew Obranovich, Evie Steffens, Madison Wagner and Meghan Wagner;

Second-graders: Layla Alabasi, Logan Andrews, Julia Arnaut, Ava Ayres, Cejay Baker, Ellie Furst, Mikayla Herbst, Heidi Jazbec, It’sla Mancino, Nate Mikonsky, Joey Miller, Niko Sarris and Sammy Paros;

Third-graders: Emily Berdis, Ashley Chase, Ryan Downs, Frankee Flesher, Ryder Frankmann, Jake Gyetko, Elizabeth Jazbec, John Mikes, Melanie Palivec, Anthony Paulic, Melody Szapowal, Courtney Whiting and Rachel Hammitt;

Fourth-graders: Jolee Baker, Jake Bahleda, Vince Brown, Angelina Camino, Jacob Grinstead, Lauren Kercher, Will Kotheimer, Kyle Osicki, Christian Paros, Rafael Rodriguez and Rylie Hanford.

Fifth-graders: Faith Holowczak, Ella Murray, Heather Patterson, Johnny Patterson, Jillian Smith, Natalie Radatz, Gabby Ramirez, Peter Sanelli, Grace Swoboda, Payton Trentanelli, Anna Weiss and Francesca Wagner.

Article Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.