Kenston School News
February 3, 2022 by Staff Report

The Power of the Pen team from Kenston Middle School has advanced to the District 1 regional tournament to be hosted virtually on March 5 by Hudson Middle School...

Power of the Pen

The Power of the Pen team from Kenston Middle School has advanced to the District 1 regional tournament to be hosted virtually on March 5 by Hudson Middle School.
In the Power of the Pen district tournament, seventh- and eighth-grade students competed in a series of extemporaneous rounds of creative writing tasks, each in response to an open-ended prompt. The district tournament is both a team and an individual competition.
The seventh-grade team coached by Mrs. Tamara Cabrera-Perrine took first place at the virtual district held at Lake Erie College.
Seventh-graders receiving top individual honors were Kherington Swader – second place; Porter Fontana – third place; and Emmanuella Chelbezan – sixth place.
Power of the Pen, one of Ohio’s largest educational enhancement programs, seeks to positively impact academic achievement of the state’s middle schoolers by helping young people find and develop a creative voice uniquely their own.

Timmons Lunch Bunch

Congratulations to Timmons Elementary School Students selected for Lunch Bunch honors in January.
Kindergartners honored with self-control awards were Gemma Alvarez, Myraa Arshad, Claire Bull, Shea Fitzgerald, Paxton John, Camryn Miozzi, Allison Touzalin, Jasmine Veazie and Benjamin Wright. First-graders honored were Charles Baugher, Elek Cenkus, Nicholas DeWitt, Carter Hillman, Philomena Milroy, Atlas Muir and McKenna O’Neil.
Second-graders were Emily Frankfort, Vincent Henschel, Cayleigh Nutter, Lilly Pealer, Lilah Rankin, Savannah Susman, Annabelle Swift and Savannah Vasch. Third-graders were Anya Baum, Veronica Bobanga, Griffin Francis-Yuhas, Milo Sedmak, Hazel Slanina, Andrew Stover and Evelyn Yates.

KIS Student of the Month

Kenston Intermediate School recognized their Students of the Month for January.
They were fourth-graders Sophia Anisimova, Alina Arnaut, Victoria Closs, Landyn Crowley, Marilyn Dombrowski, Tyson Ehrenbeit, Charles Falletta, Ashley Klak and Grayson Reed; and fifth-graders Defne Ates, Beckham Camara, Matthew Clark, Anya DeWitt, Emma Fernandez, Charlie Hallisy, Joshua Lanning, Ian McCallin, Matthew Pannunzio, Rory Paterson and Jaxsen Timmons.

KMS Student of the Month

Kenston Middle School recognized their Students of the Month for January.
They were sixth-graders Grace Klar, Alden Peterson, Logan Phillips and Myles White; seventh-graders Ryan Flynn, Isabella Klak, Bryce Stotter and Kherington Swader; and eighth-graders Alexandra McIntosh, Robert Nelson, Toran Savransky and Alison Winter.

KHS Students of the Month

Kenston High School is pleased to announce their Students of the Month for February.
Students selected for Student of the Month honors were ninth-graders Nathan Rolf and Mackenzie Villersi; 10th-graders Hailey Fienberg and Devan McCabe; 11th-graders Maria Insana and Josue Rios; and 12th-graders Micah Greenberg and Ryann Greulich.

Speech and Debate Update

Kenston’s Speech and Debate team traveled to North Canton Hoover High School. From the high school, Jacob Spencer placed third in Humorous Interpretation, and Eden Truax placed fourth in Informative Speaking. In her first tournament, Kylie Moore received an award for being the third best novice in Dramatic Interpretation. Addie Altmann also received an award for being the third best novice in Humorous Interpretation.
Seventeen students from Kenston Middle School were called to the stage to receive an award. Kenston placed first in four of the five middle school events. Congratulations to tournament champions: Kherington Swader in Congressional Debate, teammates Brooke Carlson and Reagan Carnes in Public Forum Debate, Grace Voudris in Extemporaneous Debate and Marin Carlson in Oratory.
Katherine Tobin placed second in Interpretation. Placing second in Public Forum Debate was the team of Jillian Ragsdale and William Turner.
In Oratory, Zoe LeFeber placed second, William Radefeld placed third, Madelyn Foerster placed fifth and Maren Hill placed sixth.
In Extemporaneous Debate, Zachary Radefeld placed second, Graham Christopher placed fourth, William Thompson placed fifth and Austin Hoch placed sixth. Placing fifth in the Congressional Debate category was Nathaniel McIntosh.

Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame

The Kenston Alumni Association is seeking outstanding individuals for induction into the 2022 Distinguished Hall of Fame. They will be graduates or staff members of Auburn, Bainbridge or Kenston schools who have achieved success in their careers and have made significant contributions in their fields as well as to society.
To be eligible, nominees must have graduated in the class of 2012 or before or retired/resigned from the district by June 1, 2012, or before, and not currently be employed by the Kenston Schools. Visit the Kenston Alumni webpage for more information.
Deadline for nominations is Feb. 25. Inductees will be recognized in the 2022-23 school year.
A panel of Kenston High School students, alumni, staff and administrators will select inductees for the Hall of Fame. Selections will be based on nominations, information received from friends/families and an application completed by the individuals themselves.